2022 InnovateIT Awards

2022 InnovateIT Awards   InnovateIT Award winners Government Innovation Leader…

August 17, 2022

2022 InnovateIT Awards


InnovateIT Award winners

  • Government Innovation Leader of the Year

Mark Oh, Director, Infrastructure and User Services Group, Office of Information Technology

Helped to create the Enterprise Monitoring and Management (EMM) application, which uses organizations, systems, devices, and individuals to provide both real-time and batch data, helping to close gaps in enterprise situational awareness.


  • Industry Innovation Leader of the Year

Nathan Swab, Lead of Defense Health, Sentar

Helped to develop the Site Assessment and Vulnerability Remediation (SAVR) program, which significantly drove down residual risk for the Medical Community of Interest (Med-COI) enterprise enclave, implemented by the Defense Health Agency (DHA).


  • Emerging Government Leader of the Year

Mittal Desai, CIO, Federal Regulatory Commission

Created an innovative approach to a technologically diverse community, using Microsoft’s Intune MAM Suite to ensure that users could access critical data and perform their jobs on any device of their choosing.


  • The Data Analytics Award

The Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Information Technology, Provider Relief Fund Team

Developed a cloud-smart, scalable, and integrated data platform to aid in quickly disbursing billions of dollars in COVID-19 relief funds to frontline healthcare workers in a fair and secure manner.


  • Citizen Services Innovation Leader

Beth Libbey, Product Manager for the Customer Profile Management System, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, Immigration Records and Identity Services Directorate

Contributed to USCIS’s establishing new remote enrollment sites to process over 50,000 Afghan nationals, create effective reporting mechanisms, and minimize the number of encounters required to collect all necessary data.


  • The Cybersecurity Innovation Leader Award

Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Team  – Quadrina Quinn (Supervisory IT Specialist, Office of the CIO), Marshall Fordham (Lead Developer and SCRUM Master, USAJOBS), Julie Jackson (Product Owner, USAJOBS Agency Talent Portal), and Dan Thibodeau (Project Manager, USAJOBS Program)

Created a groundbreaking, customized career site on OPM’s USAJOBS website to boost the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) recruitment efforts, guiding highly sought-after professionals into cybersecurity positions.


Capping the event, AFCEA Bethesda announced donations by the chapter to charitable organizations and STEM-oriented academic programs totaling more than $140,000 for the year.


Thought Leadership